View Single Post
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 04, 2004, 11:30am
kentref kentref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 260
I just got my first look at the question and the subsequent posts.

The block in the back is a foul in this situation.
I say this because the new ruling this year that touching by R is ignored when it is caused by K means that R still has not touched the ball when the BIB occurs.
I think folks are getting hung up too much with the term "legal." Think about it this way. If there is a situation where both R and K players can possess and retain the ball, then players from both R and K can pull, push, etc. to get to the ball. This situation does not exist in the play example because until R touches the ball, K cannot retain it after getting possession.
IMO that is why the BIB in this play is a foul.

Also, one of the posts indicated that you could potentially call more than one unsportsmanlike flag on the K player that scored. More than one USC gets that guy tossed, right??

Thanks to all for a good, thought-provoking question and a lot of really good responses!
__________________
kentref
Reply With Quote