View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2004, 12:09pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by Warrenkicker
Quote:
Originally posted by MJT
Quote:
Originally posted by Warrenkicker
2C True.

9-4-5 Only if the contact is direct in a scrimmage-kick formation is it a foul. To say any contact in this formation is a foul is incorrect.

I hope we all know what this rule means. But to make a blanket statement about what might be refered to as a judgement call when you don't know what the contact is can get you in trouble. Just like a punter complaining to you after he is bumped that it should be a foul because his coach told him that he can't touch the punter.

If this question said "directly contacted" then I would agree that this is false.

I'm not picking on you kdf5 but we have to be clear on the description of the play or we could get a lot of different answers depending on how people read it and what they read into it.
The question was very clear. kdf5 said he was in scrimmage kick formation and "can the snapper be contaced immediately no matter the formation?" No, he cannot be if they are in scrimmage kick formation, which they were. So NO in 2c he may not be contacted immediately.
But rule 9-4-5 says "A defensive player may not charge directly into the snapper when the offensive team is in a scrimmage-kick formation." It does not say that the snapper can not be contacted. It says "directly charge into". If an R player is trying to block the kick and he rushes past the snapper and some contact is made would this be a foul? Roughing the snapper is the call when the contact is aimed at or through the snapper but not when the contact is an attempt to get around the snapper and not through him.

I say this all comes down to what the definition of "immediately contact" as opposed to "directly charge into". If you determine those are the same then the answer to the initial question is false. But if those have different meanings then the answer is true.
I agree, it depends on how you see the contact.
Reply With Quote