Thread: Ball Four?
View Single Post
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2004, 01:41pm
whiskers_ump whiskers_ump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by gsf23
Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump

Three and two count. No one on. Batter swings at a low pitch and barely ticks the ball. The catcher scoops it after it hits the ground. The batter runs to first and the catcher throws to F3. Call ball 4 on the batter because the catcher threw a foul ball to a fielder other than the pitcher.

This is a Case Book play 6F7-2 Bases are empty and B1 has a count of 0-1. On
the next pitch, B1 hits a foul ball that F2 retrieves and throws to F5. Ruling:
A ball is awarded to B1, resulting in a 1-2 count.
Couldn't you also call a strike on the batter for leaving the batters box? I mean, if the catcher knows they scooped it, then the batter should know that the ball isn't anywhere near bing in play if she barely ticked it.

[Edited by gsf23 on Dec 2nd, 2004 at 12:41 PM] [/B]
Why would a batter be awarded a strike for leaving the batter's box?
If you are referring to rule 7-3-C, better re-read it.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote