View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 23, 2001, 08:15am
David B David B is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Re: Why?

I don't think anyone is saying BU cannot make the call.

However, according to NF mechanics, PU has routine flyball in the infield, thus he is covering the catch, and PU also has fair/foul so he is covering fair/foul.

BU is moving in case of a possible play toward second or a throw to first if the ball is dropped.

He may see and call the play as interference; however, since PU is covering the play, PU should have the call.

Thanks
David


Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
For those of you that say this is the PU's call all the way, give me a NF reference that says that. Because according to the NF any umpire can call interference or obstruction that sees it. And that is specificially on page 27, under #10. So I have to disagree that the BU cannot make that call.