View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2004, 08:34pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
Don't worry, I went and looked it up, Rule 8 1-4-5.

"Not a dual penalty since piling on was a dead ball foul."

It makes sense.
And who says understanding the white book is hard?

It also says in the dual foul section that a dual foul is when a foul by each team occurs during a play. When a guy gets tackled, the play is over. If you then have a piling on, it is not during the play. So, no dual foul.

Now, having siad all this: I argue that piling is on a continuing action foul, and although it occurs during a dead ball, it should be treated as a live ball foul.

What do you think?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote