Quote:
Originally posted by ljudge
Here's one we discussed locally within our chapter...it makes you think of a few rules. Probably not to much debate however but a good test queston:
K's punt from the K-45 is bouncing around at the R-15. At the R-5 yard line, K85 bats the ball back towards his own goal line to prevent it from going into the endzone. The ball hits R40, then K80 blocks R40 in the back at the R-10 to get to the loose ball.
R40 picks up the ball and runs to midfield where he fumbles. K31 recovers and runs it in for a touchdown. During K31's run, he turns around and trots backwards into the endzone, does a little dance, and spikes the ball.
|
My take is the BIB is illegal cuz in the definition of blocking it says A or B can legally "push, pull, or ward off an opponent when the ball is loose
if he may legally touch or possess the ball." A BIB in my opinion does not meet this "legal block."
Therefore we have
1st touching by K at R's 5 BEANBAG DOWN
a live ball, loose ball BIB foul by K at R's 10, enforced from PS if accepted
forced touching by R40 is ignored
BEANBAG DOWN where ever R40 recovered ball as this is the EOK
BEANBAG at 50, spot of fumble
USC for going in backwards, USC for dance, USC for spike (I would probably call all of this one USC, but I think you could justify all 3 if you wanted to)
Results
Accept BIB and USC, rekick from Ks 20; if you called 3 USCs rekick from Ks 5
Decline BIB and take ball at spot of 1st touching, enforce USC, Rs ball at Rs 20; if you called 3 USCs then Rs ball at the 50.
Hope I got it all as I was in a hurry. Fun question!