View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2004, 05:59pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
That was the other option in my head, those dual foul situations are hard to remember. Although would that be a dual foul situation?? Because the second foul happened after the play, I guess it would no longer be a dual foul situation.

I guess I've got a few more years to learn this stuff before I put on the white hat.
I had a similar sitch when I WH'd at the NCB.

Do you recall the situation?

I don't remember who was on offense, but we were at the end away from the fancy new scoreboard that takes a degree to operate.

1D/10 from the B-15...

Play goes to the right side hash (near you), and there is a flag at the end of play for piling on by team B, thrown by HL. U comes in and tells me he has holding by team A.

Piling on by definition is a dead ball foul. So apply the holding first. B accepts of course to go back to the 25. Then go half-the-distance + 1D for the UR. Result: 1D/10 @ 12.5. They gained 2.5 yards on the play.

This is a good example of two fouls that DOES NOT follow the dual-foul rule "to the t". There is a case book sitch that outlines a similar play.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote