View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2004, 05:06pm
JasonTX JasonTX is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally posted by ljudge
Here's one we discussed locally within our chapter...it makes you think of a few rules. Probably not to much debate however but a good test queston:

K's punt from the K-45 is bouncing around at the R-15. At the R-5 yard line, K85 bats the ball back towards his own goal line to prevent it from going into the endzone. The ball hits R40, then K80 blocks R40 in the back at the R-10 to get to the loose ball.

R40 picks up the ball and runs to midfield where he fumbles. K31 recovers and runs it in for a touchdown. During K31's run, he turns around and trots backwards into the endzone, does a little dance, and spikes the ball.
Interesting questions. I'll attempt to answer using NCAA. Since K illegally touches the ball at the R-5 a bean bag will be dropped. The ball hitting R40 is ignored as it is considered forced touching. The block in the back by K80 is illegal since they can't legally recover the ball. Another bean bag will be dropped at the spot where R40 picks up the ball to mark the end of the kick. After R40 fumbles K can then legally recover that ball. R now has some choices. Enforce both the block in the back and the unsportsmanlike at the previous spot and replay the down from the K-20, or they can decline the block in the back and elect to take the ball at the spot of the illegal touch followed by enforcement of the unsportsmanlike. R's ball 1st and 10 at the R-20. One could be technical and say that K31 committed multiple unsportsmanlike fouls and be DQ'd.

[Edited by JasonTX on Dec 1st, 2004 at 05:10 PM]
Reply With Quote