You are sending conflicting messages here, Mike.
Mike: Try turning to page 243 of the 2004 ASA rule book, umpire's edition. The mechanics for both umpires with a runner on 2B only in FP are well defined.
When I said that I went to the book and couldnt find the answer, I couldnt find your answer when you said: Mistake #2. PU is only suppose to move down the line 20' at the most, maybe not as much knowing there was a possible play at 3B. PU should have been turned toward 3B, still watching 1B when the ball was received by F3. The FP field is not that big that the PU shouldn't have at least been in the vicinity of the circle when the play occured at 3B.
I know what the book states, and I previously quoted it. Page 242 of the 2003 ASA rule book, umpires edition: On hits, move toward third base. Be ready and in position to make a call by going down the left field foul line in foul ground. On page 216 (Leaving the Plate Area left of Catcher . . . ) we also read With no runners on base or a runner on first base only, . . . . follow the base runner toward first base in fair ground.
Thus Mr. ASA of this board and the ASA Umpire Manual have conflicting positions. That is why I asked you OK, but what really is the prescribed mechanic for a runner at 2B? I was looking for background ASA information that was not available to us just simply reading the book.
But now you equivocate: I think too many place far too much emphasis on trailing the runner. Remember the priorities of a call are increased the closer you get to home. Therefore, it is more important for the PU to be in position for the call at 3B than to worry about a pulled foot. I DID NOT SAY THE PU SHOULD NOT HELP AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE, OR THAT S/HE SHOULDN'T TRAIL THE BR.
Situation: a runner at 2nd base, and the ball hit on the infield. Question:[/I] Does the Plate Umpire (a) trail the B-R towards 1B, or (b) move up the 3rd base line?[/I]
A or B?
WMB
|