View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 22, 2004, 04:59am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally posted by shocker
This is off the 2002 NFHS exam.
If substitute B12 is on A's side of the neutral zone when the ball is snapped, it's an encroachment foul.
Answer is false. So what is the call?

Rules definition is as follows:

SECTION 30 PLAYER DESIGNATIONS

ART. 15 . . . A substitute is a team member who may replace a player or fill a player vacancy. A substitute becomes a player when he enters the field and communicates with a teammate or an official, enters the huddle, is positioned in a formation or participates in the play. An entering substitute is not considered to be a player for encroachment restrictions until he is on his team's side of the neutral zone. A team member entering the field to fill a player vacancy remains a substitute until he is on his team's side of the neutral zone.
Our substitution rule is that if you're on the field (read: not OB) you are eligible to participate in the play. Now, if you're a slow runner, or the offense snaps the ball with you on their side of the LS, there is no foul if you don't participate in the play. We consider it a one-play power play. (I miss hockey.)
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote