View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 21, 2004, 10:26pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by Florida Rookie
During the Florida-Florida State game, the Florida QB completed a a backward pass to his receiver who was then face-masked by FSU. The SEC official announced that the penalty would be enforced from the previous spot.

Didn't the loose ball play end when the ball was caught? If so, shouldn't the penalty have been enforced from the end of the run resulting in a 1st and 7? (The run ended for a two yard loss.)
They got it right. NCAA rule 10-2-2c2 states "When the run ends behind the NZ before COP, the basic spot is the PS."

Reply With Quote