I was unaware that under any code the umpire was supposed to say, "You can't go back."
BR hits a ground ball that F6 throws away. BR misses 1B and, with the ball dead, proceeds to touch 2B. If BR then returns to 1B to retouch, the umpire allows him to do so. If the defense does not appeal, the umpire makes no call. If the defense does appeal, the ump calls BR out and if necessary then informs BR, "You couldn't go back."
Abel on 3B, Baker on 2B, Charles on 1B. Daniels hits a ball over the fence. Abel runs in reverse order, causing Baker, Charles, and Daniels to "pass" him. Three outs, no runs.
[Edited by greymule on Nov 22nd, 2004 at 03:31 PM]
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|