| 
			
			 
			
				Thu Nov 18, 2004, 01:11pm
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Feb 2003 Location: Cheyenne, wyoming 
						Posts: 1,493
					      |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	http://www.officialforum.com/thread/16363Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by BushRef 
 
	OK, so what if the defender is only "slightly" out of bounds with a foot on the line and there's a trainwreck when the offensive player runs over him and the offensive player initiated the contact? You gonna call this a Player Control foul, since, after all, the defender was only "slightly" (one foot on the edge of the line) out of bounds?Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by BamaRef If A2 is slightly out of bounds,(I know you can't be slightly out of bounds. By using the term "slightly", I mean the player's intent was not to run out of bounds to go around the screen, they just happened to step out of bounds by mistake, a foot on the line or something similiar) then I let play continue without a penalty.  However, if the player clearly runs out of bounds, using the out of bounds area to his/her advantage, then I call a T.
 
 On a play like that, I have to make a judgement call as to what I think the players intent was.  That is not always easy and I'm not right all of the time.  However, I do my best and live with the out come.  I don't worry about players, coaches, fans or what my sweet wife thinks.  Officiating is a hard job. Most won't even attempt it.  Of those who do, few stick with it.
 |  |  
set aside some time for this one Bush...it is long..
		 
			
			
			
			
				  |