View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2004, 12:42pm
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by ltrain1007
Where are you getting this information from? And are your saying that if im on the 1 yard line and reach outside the pylon its a touchdown? but if i dive its not a touchdown?

Im not calling anyone stupid or anything, im completely rational, but i would like to see facts, so i can interpert them.

Facts the goal line is intenionally considered to be a plane, and by definition a plane is infinite.

THATS FACT, no one can argue that.

My second fact is that a player is not out of bounds until he touches the ground.

THATS FACT, no one can argue that.

and lastly it is a touchdown when a player reaches the ball across the plane.


Since i dont have the rule book, YET, logically that supports my argument.


if anyone has anything that supports their counter argument please enlighten me, thanks.

THATS FACT, no one can argue that.
The Rules support what I have said. But to add, so does the casebook.

See NF casebook play 2.25.3

Here it is from the NF website:

Runner A1 is advancing towards B’s goal line and is very near the sideline. (a) A1 advances into B’s end zone while holding the ball outside the sideline plane; or (b) A1 dives toward the end zone, but is hit by B1 which causes him to land out of bounds beyond the goal-line extended. A1’s last contact with the ground was short of the goal line. In both cases the ball breaks the plane of B’s goal-line extendended.

RULING

In (a), it is a touchdown because A1 was touching inbounds when the ball broke the plane of the goal-line extended. However, in (b) since A1 was not touching inbounds and was short of the goal line when he was hit, it is not a touchdown even though the ball did break the goal-line plane extended. The ball is spotted at the inbounds spot on the yard line where the foremost point of the ball crossed the sideline plane when A1 was driven out of bounds.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote