Sal,
I agree with most of what you said, except for one thing which is very important thing. We are forgetting that were runners already on base when this play happened.
You had a runner on 1st, who attempted to score once the runner saw that the ball was heading down the right field line after it was knocked out of the 1st baseman's glove.
With that being said, West could not trail the play right out of the gate, because of having plate coverage responsibilities for the runner trying to score from 1st base.
So, I think the umpires covered it right from start to finish with what they had to work with, but this is just my opinion.
|