View Single Post
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 05:31pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
[i]
When we start (or don't start) the count, we don't know that A wants a TO. So, we can't consider A in this scenario -- we can only consider B.

[/B]
Agree. But we also have to then make the determination of whether B actually had possession of the ball or the ball at it's disposal if A does subsequently request a TO. Getting away from all of the mind-numbing verbiage that been used so far (including my own), the original question was what was the point in time that you would NOT allow a TO request from the scoring team. If I'm interpreting the rules correctly( and I think I am), on a normal situation- not including the ones where the ball bounces away- you can't honor that TO request if it's made after a player from the team scored on grabs the ball after the made shot even if it's preparatory to going OOB to make the throw-in, or you alternatively determine that that team has met the rules language of having the ball at it's disposal. Iow, if a B player grabs the ball to take it OOB, then a subsequent TO request by A will be denied- even though the B player is still inbounds.

That was the original scenario. Do you agree with that, Bob, or do you have any rules reference that would say otherwise?
Reply With Quote