View Single Post
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 05:04pm
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Let's break down how illogical that is, shall we.

If the throwing team does what, by rule, they are supposed to do, secure the ball and move to the endline, you WILL allow the other team to call a time out.

If they don't do what they are, by rule, supposed to do, you WILL NOT allow a time out for the other team.

Do you realize just how unfair and idiotic that sounds.

Do what you are supposed to do and get penalized.

Don't do what you are supposed to do and the OTHER team gets penalized.
When we start (or don't start) the count, we don't know that A wants a TO. So, we can't consider A in this scenario -- we can only consider B.

If B is delaying, starting the count penalizes B -- it minimizes the delay.

If B is not delaying, not starting the count advantages B -- it gives them the full 5 seconds from the time they get ready to make the throw-in.

I think you earlier said something to the effect of "If B gets the ball two feet from the end-line, I'll start my count, but if they get it at half court (with no penalty / warning involved), I'll wait until they get OOB." If you did say something to that effect, I'd like to ask exactly where the dividing line is -- 5 feet? 10 feet? the FT line?

And, if you wait when B picks up the ball at the division line, why don't you start the count when they get to within whatever that arbitrary distance is?



[Edited by bob jenkins on Nov 12th, 2004 at 04:50 PM]
I NEVER said any such thing about OOB. I said earlier that if the ball gets away on it's own or delects off the throwing team you can either wait until they are in position to throw it in, or hit the whistle and treat it like a spot throw in with the ability to run the end line.

It's called common sense and judgement WITHIN the rules. Saying it must be OOB is adding something that is NOT IN THE RULES.
Reply With Quote