View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2004, 04:17pm
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust


If, as you say, it is available and at their disposal when the team picks up the ball, I suggest you consider the following variations:

Ball drops through the net B1 picks it up right there, available you say? You start the count and disallow a TO by A?




Camron, isn't the above basically the original question? Didn't the poster say that "A has made the basket and as soon as B has grabbed the ball, it is too late for A to call a time-out, even before B has stepped out of bounds"? The question wasn't whether you would start a count or not; it was whether you would grant a time-out request by B after A had grabbed the ball. I quoted a buncha rules that say(imo) that you can't grant the TO request. I still haven't seen any rule quoted that would say that you can grant a TO request in this particular instance-- not when the ball rolls away-- but in this particular instance.

No its not too late for Team A to request and be granted a timeout, because even though B1 immediately grabs the ball and immediately starts to take the ball out-of-bounds to attempt a throw-in, the ball is dead until B1 is completely out-of-bounds and is not touching inbounds. Then and only then does the dead ball become live and now if Team A requests a timeout, its request shall not be granted.

MTD, Sr.
By what rule?

That is 100% wrong.

5.8.3 situation D:

A1 or A2 requests a time out: a) while airborne A1 is holding the ball. b) A1's throw in is in flight toward A2. c) when the ball IS ON THE FLOOR at A1's disposal for a throw in. The time out is granted in a and c, but not in b.

[Edited by blindzebra on Nov 11th, 2004 at 04:56 PM]
Reply With Quote