View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2004, 10:03am
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
IMHO, If B has the ball OOB, or could have had the ball OOB, then it's at their disposal. If it's "too soon" for them to have the ball OOB, then it's not at their disposal.

The definition of "too soon" is the same as the definition of pornography -- I know it when I see it. [/B]
Agree. Experience usually lets you know the difference between when a team is trying to avoid having the ball at their disposal and the occasion when there is a just a little confusion as to deciding who's gonna actually make the throw-in. [/B][/QUOTE]

At times I have started my count shortly after the score when B5 tips the scored ball toward the endline (to nobody), and turns to go up court with no teammates on the endline to throw-in.
I have figgered "at disposal".

If team A had tipped that ball, I would have warned. So, I figger if Team B tips it, I may as well start counting.
mick
Reply With Quote