View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 02:27pm
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by coachz_216
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by coachz_216
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie
if you call the "t" for making the ring vibrate....then you just called a "t" on the kid for grabbing the rim to protect him/her self...and then letting go and the rim was still shaking when the shot was taken!!!! So the book says it's legal to grasp the rim, to avoid injury, so when you let it go, it's going to shake a little...so if you determine the grasp to be a legal one, you can't call a "t" when they let it go and a shot is taken as long as it gets put back in it's upright location before contacted by the ball.... IMHO!
Yabut.....

What if the ring is re-locked but still shaking from the grasp when the shot hits it and then (a)either goes in or (b) doesn't go in? What's the call in either case? That was part of the original question?
This is why (IMHO) it should be called BI if the shaking ring causes the ball to come out--it's a judgement call--likely not going to be popular with the offender's team/fans, but I don't think any player should be allowed to disrupt the basket/support, causing a ball to not go in, and be allowed to get away with it.

Sigh...I took the time to give you a brief history of the rule and a rule reference...yet you ignored me.

I feel so...so...unnoticed...



Sorry!!!

Didn't mean to ignore(disrespect) anyone. I appreciate the reference--and I freely admit that, by rule, this is a no-call if the ring has re-locked in its normal position. However, in a game--I'd have to see it to be sure--I'm probably going to blow the whistle and count the basket if I think the ball was caused to come out by the shaking of the ring/basket caused by the player hanging on the rim.

No way I'm calling a T on the kid for hanging on the rim to protect himself--but no way I'm going to let him gain an advantage (the ball coming out) just because he happened to be hanging on the rim at a time when he was seeking personal protection. I admit that I can't justify my call by a rule in the rule book, but as a lifelong player/coach/official/fan and absolute lover of the game, this is a call I can sleep soundly with.

No disrespect intended.

Thanks.


No disrespect taken, I'm just playing with you.

But there's no way you can justify a call that is counter to the rules (such as awarding 2 points for shaking the ring) just becuase you thought it was the right thing to do. If you're working a league where this type of play might happen you are asking for big trouble by doing so.
Reply With Quote