View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 02:13pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by coachz_216
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie
if you call the "t" for making the ring vibrate....then you just called a "t" on the kid for grabbing the rim to protect him/her self...and then letting go and the rim was still shaking when the shot was taken!!!! So the book says it's legal to grasp the rim, to avoid injury, so when you let it go, it's going to shake a little...so if you determine the grasp to be a legal one, you can't call a "t" when they let it go and a shot is taken as long as it gets put back in it's upright location before contacted by the ball.... IMHO!
Yabut.....

What if the ring is re-locked but still shaking from the grasp when the shot hits it and then (a)either goes in or (b) doesn't go in? What's the call in either case? That was part of the original question?
This is why (IMHO) it should be called BI if the shaking ring causes the ball to come out--it's a judgement call--likely not going to be popular with the offender's team/fans, but I don't think any player should be allowed to disrupt the basket/support, causing a ball to not go in, and be allowed to get away with it.

Sigh...I took the time to give you a brief history of the rule and a rule reference...yet you ignored me.

I feel so...so...unnoticed...



Hey, the coach is new, but he's still smart enough to consider the source.

PS- Yoo-hoo, Coach. Listen to Dan. He wouldn't lie to you about no BI ever for just slapping a back board and making the ring vibrate.
Reply With Quote