View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 12:43pm
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by coachz_216
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by coachz_216
Any action by a defender that causes the basket/support to be moving while the ball is in the cylinder is BI in my book--(I can't quote a rule book reference). EX. Slapping the backboard in an attempt to block a shot while the ball is in the cylinder.
You may want to re-think that "slap" comment, Coach. It's completely wrong, by explicit rule. [/B]
Please give me the rule reference--I have always thought that if you caused the basket (ring/backboard/support) to move while the ball was in the cylinder, that's BI.

If I'm wrong--I need to be corrected (& learn something!)

It just doesn't seem right that a player can slap the backboard in an attempt to block a shot (causing the basket/support to rock) while the ball is in the cylinder, and have that not be BI. I'm sure I have seen it called that way many times.

[/B][/QUOTE]

A few yrs ago the ncaa made a change to the BI rule to account for when a player grabs a moveable ring and the ring strikes the ball on a shot before the ring returns to its "original position" (famous Bob Knight-Ted Valentine broo-ha-ha ensued). The nfhs added that last year, rule 4-6-4. This is the ony time BI can apply when the ball's not in the cylinder. BI *never* applies when the violation is making the ring/backboard/supports vibrate.


JR, as far as I'm concerned the ring can "return to its original position" (locked & no longer moving up or down) and still "vibrate". Once it relocks BI is off the table and we're left at most with a T for vibrating the ring during a shot. IMO.

You have something that will make me change my mind?

[Edited by Dan_ref on Nov 9th, 2004 at 12:59 PM]
Reply With Quote