View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 12:32pm
coachz_216 coachz_216 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by coachz_216
Any action by a defender that causes the basket/support to be moving while the ball is in the cylinder is BI in my book--(I can't quote a rule book reference). EX. Slapping the backboard in an attempt to block a shot while the ball is in the cylinder.
[/B]
You may want to re-think that "slap" comment, Coach. It's completely wrong, by explicit rule. [/B][/QUOTE]

Please give me the rule reference--I have always thought that if you caused the basket (ring/backboard/support) to move while the ball was in the cylinder, that's BI.

If I'm wrong--I need to be corrected (& learn something!)

It just doesn't seem right that a player can slap the backboard in an attempt to block a shot (causing the basket/support to rock) while the ball is in the cylinder, and have that not be BI. I'm sure I have seen it called that way many times.

Reply With Quote