
Tue Nov 09, 2004, 12:28pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by coachz_216
If A1 jumps from front court, catches, and lands in backcourt, it is not a violation and he can then pass to A2 in backcourt! What sense does it make to say that if he gets rid of it while in the air, and it is caught by A2 in backcourt, it is a violation? If he just held on a little longer until he landed, then it wouldn't be! This seems very incosistent. Am I missing something here?
|
Nope, what you've written above is exactly how the rule works for any airborne defender intercepting a pass, or an airborne player grabbing a tipped jump ball or a throw-in and going from front court to back court. Might not make sense, but it's what we gotta use.
|
I agree--that's the rule. I don't think anyone's debating that. You bring up a good point that it does apply to any situation involving the first player to establish player/team control after a situation where there is not team control.
|