View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 03, 2004, 04:24pm
Mark Dexter Mark Dexter is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

I'm counting the basket no matter which team it was.

My question now is am I right by the rules?
I don't think so, BITS.

First of all, in order to count, the tap/try must be released before the horn. As this was released after the horn (even though the clock was started incorrectly), it's really hard to justify counting the basket.

Now, as to the time left for a tap. The 3/10ths rule does not state that a tap takes only 3/10ths of a second. Rather, it states that if there are 3/10 or less on the clock, only a tap can count. The tap must still be released before the horn.

Because the horn went off early, there is no way to tell if the ball would have left the shooter's hands before the 3/10ths had expired. As such, I think we have a timer's error. The referee has definite knowledge of how much time should remain on the clock (0:00.3), and should have the clock reset to that.

Now, the bigger question is where does the ball get put into play. While the most fair 'do-over' strategy may be to have the team inbound at the original spot, I think we have to say that the ball is dead at the spot where the horn/whistle sounded, and the ball must be inbounded closest to that spot.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote