Quote:
Originally posted by Patton
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
Basic spot is the EZ, folks. Even if the block is at the 2, if the end of the run is IN the EZ, you have a safety.
|
I have to disagree on this one. Rule 10-4-5(d)...The basic spot is the succeeding spot: When the final result is a touchback.
Casebook play 10.5.5 Situation A: B1 intercepts a pass in his own end zone and is tackled there after attempting to advance. During B1's run, B2 clips A1 at B's 4-yard line. Ruling: The basic enforcement spot is the 20-yard line. If the penalty is accepted it will be inforced from the spot of the foul, B's ball first and 10 from B's 2-yard line. If the penalty is declined, it is B's ball first and 10 from B's 20-yard line.
|
The case book play you quoted says "the penalty in enforced from the spot of the foul". Since the spot of the foul is in the endzone, you have a safety. Actually the original post doesn't say where the penalty occurred but I believe by reading the post that the foul occurred in the EZ. Anyway, by enforcing from the spot of the foul, you are consistent, like Bob M said in enforcing per the all-but-one principle.