As explained at a recent 2004 ASA National Umpire School, there is a scenario where the batter-runner can be called out on a ball four walk, going to 1st base.
Even though the batter has obtained ball 4, the batter-runner still has to run the basses properly. If the play has all of the following conditions, the batter-runner is out:
1) As the batter-runner is going to 1st base, the umpire must sense that the runner will be continuing to 2nd base.
2) The batter-runner is going to 1st base in fair territory away from the foul line.
3) The catcher has come in front of home plate (fair territory) to throw to the 1st baseman.
4) The 1st baseman (also in fair territory) is at 1st base on the 2nd base side.
5) The throw from the catcher hits the batter-runner who is also in fair territory as mentioned in #2 above.
Keep in mind; all 3 players (catcher, 1st baseman, and batter-runner) are in fair territory, with the batter-runner trying to continue to 2nd base. Therefore, there is an implied intent that the batter-runner is interfering with the defensive player in making a play. Batter-runner is out for interference.
|