View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 29, 2004, 04:40pm
Jay R Jay R is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jay R
Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie
summary.... player B1 in legal guarding position, places foot on sideline and A1 contacts B1?? block/charge situation??????? i know in NFHS it is now supposed to be an automatic blocking situation... haven't been able to find nothing about it in ncaa rules, i'm assuming, that it is not the same and wish they would of had it in the quick differences reference page 78...

Both feet have to be inbounds to obtain a legal guarding position. Only foot needs to inbound to maintain a LGP.

In NCAA anyway. Not sure about NFHS, I don`t use those rules.
Jay, this has been changed. See 4-33, you need to be completely inbounds to obtain & maintain LGP.

NCAA 2005 Rule Boook. Section 4-33
Article 6 "To maintain a legal guarding position:"
b) "The guard is required to have either one foot or both feet on the playing court (cannot be out-of bounds)"

I read that as meaning that a player could have one foot out-of-bounds. My bad.
Reply With Quote