[QUOTE]
Originally posted by KWH
Quote:
Originally posted by Derock2004
Quote:
[i]But how can it be a touchdown if the ball never touches the ground or an A player? Isn't that the definition of a legal snap? And is it not a rule that a "legal snap" will cause the ball to become live???
Man I am confused!
|
DeRock-
In the play above the snap WAS LEGAL.
It appears you are thinking that because the ball has not touched the ground or a backfield player it was not a legal snap.
Please note: The requirment of the ball touching the ground or a backfield player is only necessary WHEN AN "A" LINEMAN IS INVOLVED.
Restated, since a "TEAM A LINEMAN" was not involved in the play, the snap was legal!
I hope this helps
|
This helps because it forced me to critically read the definition of a Snap. Now, I can honestly say I see why this play is legal (I still don't agree with it but at least NOW I see why it is legal).
Section 38, Art 3...The snap ends when the ball touches the ground or
ANY player.
Interpretation: When the Nose Guard swats (touches) the ball the snap legally ended. If someone explained that to me earlier and I missed it, I apologize. This one word "any" seems out of place since the entire definition focuses the readers attention to the offensive side of the ball. NFHS could have better clarified this definition by adding "any
A or B player.
In my opinion, this is an unfair rule. The snapper should be allowed the opportunity to put the ball in play without someone swatting at the ball but again, it is legal!