Quote:
Originally posted by Derock2004
Quote:
Originally posted by JamesBond
Quote:
Originally posted by Derock2004
Whats the call in this play:
Punt formation, snapper snaps the ball which floats high into the air in punt-like fashion. B1 runs underneath it and catches it, in stride and races untouched into the end zone. The ball never touches the ground or an A player. What is the call and is there any similarity to B1 touching the ball before the snapper releases it?
|
I am assuming you never played or saw a game of football. The situation you describe above is called a TOUCHDOWN for B. The second scenario is a fumble. Both are legal in NFHS.
|
But how can it be a touchdown if the ball never touches the ground or an A player? Isn't that the definition of a legal snap? And is it not a rule that a "legal snap" will cause the ball to become live???
Man I am confused!
|
You are looking into it way too deeply. Take a step back and breath a little. The game is football. The object is to get the little brown oblique spheriod into the endzone. A snap a is continuous movement of the ball and a release. IT DOESN'T MATTER IN NFHS IF THE 'RELEASE' OCCURS VOLUNTARILY OR INVOLUNTARILY. Read some of the other posts dude. Its not that tough to interpret. Its legal and there is no interpretation that is going to justify it as illegal.