View Single Post
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 29, 2004, 11:04am
Derock2004 Derock2004 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally posted by JamesBond
Quote:
Originally posted by Derock2004
Whats the call in this play:
Punt formation, snapper snaps the ball which floats high into the air in punt-like fashion. B1 runs underneath it and catches it, in stride and races untouched into the end zone. The ball never touches the ground or an A player. What is the call and is there any similarity to B1 touching the ball before the snapper releases it?
I am assuming you never played or saw a game of football. The situation you describe above is called a TOUCHDOWN for B. The second scenario is a fumble. Both are legal in NFHS.
But how can it be a touchdown if the ball never touches the ground or an A player? Isn't that the definition of a legal snap? And is it not a rule that a "legal snap" will cause the ball to become live???

Man I am confused!
Reply With Quote