Quote:
Originally posted by Derock2004
Quote:
Originally posted by Warrenkicker
We had a player at a varsity game earlier this season come over and ask us about swatting the ball out of the snapper's hands on a long snap. This long snapper would load-up on his snap and thus really wasn't a legal snap as he would pick the ball up slightly and move it forward a little before his backward motion. We said that nothing stopped him from trying as long as he didn't encroach.
They never tried to slap the ball so we didn't have to rule on if we should have had a dead-ball foul or just a loose ball. So I would say that when a player is able to knock the ball out of the snapper's hands that it is a legal play by the defense but can be an illegal snap if it didn't meet all of those requirements.
|
So what would you have had if you had to rule on this play? Is it a dead ball or live ball? Simply put I am curious to know what you will do if this happened in a game? Would you rule it a muff, fumble, delay of game, encroachment, what????
|
I think we would have ruled it to be an illegal snap because that is supported by rule. When the snapper moves the ball forward at the beginning of the snap to "wind-up" and then snap it backwards it is an illegal snap. How often have any of you seen this and not called it?
As for the ball being slapped out by NG I still say it is legal. You have actually quoted the exact rules which tell you it is legal.
Here is your situation. A is ready for the snap. QB is under center. Center goes to snap the ball but it slips out of his hand (tall grass, clump of mud, sweaty hand,...), never gets off of the ground, and rolls to the FB. Is this an illegal snap?