I can't even imagine what rule I would cite if I wanted to call this a penalty or a dead-ball of any sort. This is, of course, a live ball, and likely simply a loose ball. If Super-Noseguard actually manages to both A) not encroach, and B) take the ball from the center, it's his ball. Don't see why you would rule differently.
DeR - please consider for a moment that you are the only official on the planet trying to call this a deadball foul on the defense, and your decision to do so flies in the face of numerous citings of FED/NCAA differences that includes statements that swatting the ball from the center is legal in FED.
Again - can you post a rule that the noseguard is violating in this case? Until that point, you really have no leg to stand on.
|