4th out supperceding the third out!
Gentleman:
Forgive me for reading into this play and seeing something that everyone appears to be missing. No matter when the third out is made,the play at first base is still a force play out for the third out. No matter when the run scores, it can not be counted when the play at first results in the third out "force play". There does not seem to be any rule rational, as in "first play in the infield" when an overthrow results that goes out of play, to be used as a timing situation. In my mind, even if this play appears to end the game, it cannot be counted.
Any other opinions to this statement?
DWSlick0223
|