Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
If (1) nothing unusual happened during the throw-in and (2) the shot clock started properly, then (3) a violation has occured by the time the shot clock shows 23 seconds.
That's a fact. There can be no debate about that.
This is not about clock-watching, about hurt feelings or credibility. This is a basic question about whether or not we enforce a violation that our partner missed when it's obvious that s/he missed it. And keep in mind that this isn't a "spirit of the rule" kind of question. It is the intent of the rule for someone to blow the whistle after 10 seconds of team control in the backcourt.
This is exactly the same as if A1 jumped up and down with the ball and your partner didn't call it. He was watching off the ball at just that instant and didn't see it. Do you call the travel? Exactly the same.
The question is, if you as the C notice this, do you whistle it or do you ignore the violation?
I vote for whistle it.
|
Hmmmmm. You use the shot clock in high school ball there, don't you, Chuck? After reading NFHS casebook play 5.10.1SitC, would you change your mind?
Team A leads by one point when they inbound the ball in their backcourt with 12 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. A1's throw-in pass is to A2 who dribbles in the backcourt until the horn sounds. The trail official does not make a 10-second call because he/she lost the count.
RULING: The game is over. The clock may not be re-set as there are no rules provisions to do this. If the count was not accurate or was not made, it cannot be corrected. There is no provision for the correction of an error made in the official's accuracy in counting seconds.