If (1) nothing unusual happened during the throw-in and (2) the shot clock started properly, then (3) a violation has occured by the time the shot clock shows 23 seconds.
That's a fact. There can be no debate about that.
This is not about clock-watching, about hurt feelings or credibility. This is a basic question about whether or not we enforce a violation that our partner missed when it's obvious that s/he missed it. And keep in mind that this isn't a "spirit of the rule" kind of question. It is the intent of the rule for someone to blow the whistle after 10 seconds of team control in the backcourt.
This is exactly the same as if A1 jumped up and down with the ball and your partner didn't call it. He was watching off the ball at just that instant and didn't see it. Do you call the travel? Exactly the same.
The question is, if you as the C notice this, do you whistle it or do you ignore the violation?
I vote for whistle it.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
|