View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 20, 2004, 09:27am
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Ron
Team A inbounds the ball, quickly shoots a 3, and hits it. Then, Team B inbounds and is fouled immediately. The problem.....the clock didn't start. Neither my partner or I were keeping a count during the play, but clearly, time should have come off the clock. I took 2 seconds off the clock.
Unfortunately, the rules don't provide for you to take ANY time off of the clock. Unless you have definite information as to how much time had elapsed, you can't do anything- except talk to the timer about not doing it again, and explaining to both coaches exactly why you couldn't take any time off of the clock.

NFHS rule 5-10.
In theory.

In practice, you would be nuts to not take *some* time off. The goal then (IMO) is to take the amount of time off that leaves both coaches thinking you came to a fair conclusion, or as fair as possible.

Reply With Quote