Quote:
Originally posted by mbyron
Kallix, F1 does not have to separate his hands before throwing home as a fielder. He can legally step off and throw home to retire a stealing R3 without separating his hands. The rule you cite is intended to prevent the situation where F1 steps off, fails to separate his hands, steps back on, and pitches. This is a quick pitch. In other words the hands must separate before he pitches again, not before he throws.
|
.
Yes you are correct, but I understand what Kalix means. Here is a play, F1 is in the set position, he then steps off, but keeps his hands and free foot in the same spots. He then procedes to stand in this position for several seconds. If the pitcher wants to throw home from the set, he must step off and do it immedieatly, or step off and drop his hands, and then he many throw when ever he wants.
If F1 steps off and holds his position, he is decieving the offense that he is still in contact with the plate. If F1 steps back and throws home immedieatly, no balk. If he steps back, waits 4 seconds and then decides to throw home, it is a balk.