View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 14, 2004, 11:50am
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
I've just read an article on the pay site about the Resuming Play Procedure, well penned by one of our own, I might add. I have a question about one point raised by the author.

Neither team is ready to play at the end of the time out. The referee elects to instigate the RPP, places the ball on the floor and begins a count. At five, the referee blows the whistle and indicates the change of possession. An additional caveat is given about changing the arrow if the throw-in was the result of an AP.

The referee indicates the ball belongs to the other team now, and begins a count. At five, the referee again blows the whistle, indicating a violation. So far I'm following this just fine. The author then indicates that the ball goes back to the original team, and the arrow, as applicable.

In the summary, the author again indicates that the with the second violation the official may have to switch the arrow a second time.

I have to admit that I'm a little confued. With the first violation, if the throw-in had been awareded because of an AP, I can see the arrow switch because of a throw-in violation. However, the second throw-in is not an AP throw-in, is it? Would you ever have a case where the arrow is again switched?
Wow, you got me, Ray. Great point. Hm...

Doggone it! Now I've got to think. You've ruined my whole day!
Reply With Quote