Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
This was on an old NFHS test that I was going over for review.
Following a time-out, A1 is in the semi-circle and ready to attempt his FT. But when the official is ready to administer the FT, A2 and A3 are still huddling in the lane. The official issues a team warning for delay. Is the official correct? Answer: NO.
No? Is it "no" b/c it's immediately following a TO? Is there some aspect of the Resuming Play Procedure that comes into play?
So then what should the official do? Place the ball in the semi-circle and then immediately call a lane violation on A2? Issue a technical foul? Those seem like the only two options to me, aside from the warning. The first seems kind of silly and the latter seems excessive.
I know what we'd all do in real life (shoo them out of the lane and into their lane spaces), but what's the rulebook answer for this question?
|
I'm in the middle of writing a series on warnings, delays and the RPP. It's unbelievably complicated and difficult to get straight. It appears to me as though the answer is no because someone didn't think the whole thing through. "It says in the book that a delay of game warning isn't appropriate after a time out so you cant do that. " The RPP doesn't address this situation in any way. There's no way to use the RPP to solve this problem. So I'm thinking a DGW would be appropriate. But then, I don't write the tests!
How old is the test, btw? Perhaps something has changed since then?