View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 13, 2004, 10:43am
TimTaylor TimTaylor is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally posted by Bizket786
A1 is goin to the basket to score and while in the act of shooting is intentionally fouled by B1. A1 gets the two shots just from the regular foul and another two from the intentional right? and does A1 have to shoot the intentional foul shots or can someone else. Also if B1 committs another intentional foul is B1 ejected from the game?
There is only one foul - no twofers.

A1 gets two shots with the lane cleared, then team A gets the ball for inbound at the spot closest to where the foul was committed.

An intentional foul is simply a foul that the official judges was committed intentionally to create a disadvantage for the opponent, ie, grabbing him/her to prevent them from making a layup. Other than the 2 shots + the ball consequence, it's treated the same as any common foul.

I think you may be confusing an intentional foul with a technical foul. Under NFHS, a player is disqualified after receiving either two technical fouls, or five total fouls including common & technical.

Any foul deemed by the official as flagrant, whether technical or common (possibly intentional), immediately disqualifies the player committing the foul from further participation.

I don't have my rule book handy, but I'm sure others here can provide you with the exact rule references. Hope this helps......
Reply With Quote