Thread: Punt Coverage
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2004, 02:46pm
Snake~eyes Snake~eyes is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by Patton
The official called kick catch interference. If no player from the receiving team is in position to catch the ball, this should not have been called. On a free kick, no K player can field the ball in flight regardless if a R player is in position or not. The official either felt that a player was in position to catch the punt or confused it with the free kick rule. That's my guess anyway.
Agreed, sounds to me like a player was in position to catch the ball, if not then a goofed call.
Reply With Quote