Mon Oct 11, 2004, 12:37pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Mike:
No. I favor that if you are going to drop the obstruction once a runner reaches the base to which they are protected, do it all the time, not just when there is a subsequent play on another runner.
As it stands, a runner could get hung up in a rundown between 1st & 2nd, get back to 1B (which in the scenario is the base you are protecting the runner) and if the ball rolls away a little bit, the runner, knowing they cannot be put out between the bases can take off for 2B again with never being in jeopardy.
I like this thinking. As most may remember several months ago I posted
just this scenario and all said runner was protected. I did not like
it, but by the reading of the present rule, it was so. I just never
could agree with this (still don't) because she reattained the base,
coach saw the obstruction call and sent her on to 2B, she is thrown
out and you have to send her back to 1B. Hope they adjust the rule
to something like Mike is thinking.
|
I already tried to sway one of the NUS members. I'll try again in Mobile.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
|