Thread: Punt Coverage
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2004, 12:01pm
Patton Patton is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 265
The official called kick catch interference. If no player from the receiving team is in position to catch the ball, this should not have been called. On a free kick, no K player can field the ball in flight regardless if a R player is in position or not. The official either felt that a player was in position to catch the punt or confused it with the free kick rule. That's my guess anyway.
Reply With Quote