View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 06, 2004, 03:10am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,954
Originally posted by tmp44
Let me add a question. Has anyone ever heard of the following mechanic...If a foul occurs in the front court and the ball will be "going the other way," has anyone ever heard of the calling official reporting the foul to the table and then returning to his position prior to the foul being called, similar to that of a violation? For example, if the lead calls an offensive foul in the paint and the ball will be going out on the baseline, does the lead go report the foul, and then return to the baseline to administer and become the new trail? This would be the same as the lead calling a traveling violation, and then administering the throw in as the new trail. Any truth to this?
I know of a conference that handles it this way in the backcourt. If the Lead is already tableside, he reports the foul and returns to inbound the ball. If the Lead is opposite, he reports and switches with the Center. That way the Long Switch (Lead--Trail) is avoided, but the foul-calling official ALWAYS ends up tableside. The Lead--Center switch is considered a short switch.
Reply With Quote