Thread: Enforcement
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 01, 2004, 05:53am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Originally posted by mvp2jeter
A’s ball, 1st and 10 on B’s 35. A21 runs it to B’s 5. As he’s getting up after being tackled, A21 throws out the F-Bomb at B’s tacklers.

I award the first down from A21’s run but hit A21 with a USC and back them up 15 to the 20, making it first and goal from the 20. Is this correct or is it just 1st and 10 from the 20?


In a different game, I’ve got K on the opening kick of the second half. K77 kicks it to R’s 40 (near the sideline) where K20 tries to recover it (first touch) but doesn’t gain control of it. No other player is in the area, so he has the opportunity to fall on it again but when he gains control of it, his legs are out of bounds. I threw a beanbag (eventually) but not a flag and signaled R’s ball on R’s 40, as this was their best choice. After talking it over with our U, I now believe I should have flagged K as well (even though it would’ve had no effect on the spot in this particular case), b/c R never touched the ball before it was ruled OOB.


Any help would be greatly appreciated.
(1) Objectionable Conduct, penalize as though no other foul happened on the play. 10 yards, 1D/10 from the 15.

(2) This is a good one. Incidental/unknown illegal participation. I'll have to look that one up.
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote