Thread: Enforcement
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 12:15am
PSU213 PSU213 is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Originally posted by mvp2jeter
A’s ball, 1st and 10 on B’s 35. A21 runs it to B’s 5. As he’s getting up after being tackled, A21 throws out the F-Bomb at B’s tacklers.

I award the first down from A21’s run but hit A21 with a USC and back them up 15 to the 20, making it first and goal from the 20. Is this correct or is it just 1st and 10 from the 20?


In a different game, I’ve got K on the opening kick of the second half. K77 kicks it to R’s 40 (near the sideline) where K20 tries to recover it (first touch) but doesn’t gain control of it. No other player is in the area, so he has the opportunity to fall on it again but when he gains control of it, his legs are out of bounds. I threw a beanbag (eventually) but not a flag and signaled R’s ball on R’s 40, as this was their best choice. After talking it over with our U, I now believe I should have flagged K as well (even though it would’ve had no effect on the spot in this particular case), b/c R never touched the ball before it was ruled OOB.


Any help would be greatly appreciated.
For part 1, it should be 1st and 10, as the line to gain is not established until the RFP.

In part 2 it is a foul for the kick "going" OOB before it was touched by R. Yes, the "best" choice for R is to take the ball where it was ruled OOB, but it is a foul, and I think it should be "recognized" as such with a flag. Plus for some reason, R may want the 5 yard penalty and the rekick.
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote