View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 27, 2004, 10:42am
Jimgolf Jimgolf is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Rule 5-10-2 says that the ref can correct a timer's error if he has definite knowlege of the timer's error. The error should have been corrected prior to the stopping of the backcourt count. There is no reason to continue a count after that, unless the offensive player is closely guarded, which is not the case in this situation. The ref has no business keeping the game clock in his head. Make the correction or ignore the error. Keeping a silent count of the game clock is contrary to the spirit of the rules.
Reply With Quote