View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2004, 10:54am
James Neil James Neil is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
How could that be a TD?! It wouldn't be a TD if the ball rolled out of bounds in the endzone ... why would it be one if it came to rest in the endzone?

(PS - I didn't think of the illegal forward pass angle... I can't recall (it was LY) if I was ahead of him or behind).
check out NF Case Book play 8.5.1 SITUATION A: R1 returns the second half kickoff to K's 10 and fumbles: (a) the ball rolls into K's end zone; or (b) K1 attempts to recover and forces the ball into his own end zone. In both cases, the ball is in K's end zone and no player of either team attempts to recover. The referee, after waiting a few seconds, sounds his whistle. RULING: It is a touchdown for R both in (a) and (b) as the fumbling team retains possession. (8-1-2c; 8-5-2b)

Reply With Quote