First of all, we are talking about the loose ball going into K's end zone. Though I had not considered a new force being applied when I first posted the thread, the point I was trying to make is it is still K's ball either way and PSK would not apply.
In play 2, All elements apply for PSK but the all but the all but one principle would be enforced making it a spot foul.
To rule that a new force had been applied, the kick would have to be grounded and either at or almost at rest prior to the muff. Unless those vital elements are present, the muff only changed the direction of the kick and the force that put the ball in the end zone is still the kick - thus a safety.
|